top of page

Forming students to lead with excellence in the mission of our church

The Five Marks of Mission of the Anglican Church

1. To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom

2. To preach, baptise and nurture new believers


3. To respond to human need by loving service


4. To seek to transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and to pursue peace and reconciliation


5. To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth

Saint Johns Photos 2021-122.jpg
Saint Johns Photos 2021-143.jpg

Committed to bicultural
Treaty-based relationships in a three-Tikanga context,
our graduates will

Growing spiritually as disciples of Jesus Christ and developing as reflective practitioners:  

Kia tupu ake hei tangata tapu hei tangata whaiwhakāro.

Biblically literate through dwelling in, expounding, and integrating the Bible with confidence and insight in everyday contexts: 

Kia mōhio ki te paipera.

Theological thinkers through critically reflecting upon scripture, tradition, reason and experience and engaging context with imagination and humility:  ​

Kia kakama ki te kaupapa Atuatanga.

Bicultural partners growing in their understanding of reo and tikanga and the mana of different cultural expressions of the faith:​

Kia poua hei tangata tikanga rua.

We celebrate our diversity as a worshipping, prayerful, formational community-based in Meadowbank, Auckland.

The College has partnerships with various other tertiary providers for the completion of degrees in theology. 


The College is governed by its board, Te Kaunihera.


The Board oversees the strategic and financial direction of the College.

  • Dr Nicola Hoggard Cregan (Chair - Contact)

  • Mr Geremy Hema

  • Mr Matanuku Mahuika

  • Rev Clare Barrie

  • Mr John Whitehead

  • Tikanga Polynesia representative pending


Saint Johns Photos 2021-124.jpg
Saint Johns Photos 2021-165.jpg

Academic Oversight

The College also has a Board of Studies that oversees academic matters. This board sits at least four times a year and includes the Senior Leadership Team (Manukura and Tikanga Deans), the Library Manager, the College Manager, the Director of Academic Programmes, the Programme Administrator, a Youth Commission representative, a Bishop representing Te Kotahitanga and Māori faculty member from Laidlaw College. 

The College is a Category 1 provider assessed by NZQA in 2019 as Highly Confident in educational performance and Highly Confident in organisational capability in self-assessment.

Code of Practice for the Pastoral Care of Domestic and International Students

The College is also a signatory to the Code of Practice for the Pastoral Care of Domestic and International Students. View the document here.

The College is required to undertake an annual audit to ensure it meets its obligations under the Code. Click here to read more, and see the audit report for 2023.

See our Complaints Policy here.

College News

Click here to view current vacancies at St John's

bottom of page